What do I have to be thankful for?

Thanksgiving2014

There are a few of you who follow this blog that know that I have a LOT to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

Last year, I came back to work on the Monday following Thanksgiving, and was called into the president’s office.  I thought we were going to discuss the marketing plan for 2014 – how we were going to use social media, blog posts, etc. I had submitted the plan a few weeks before, so I went in there with my notepad and a copy of the marketing plan, ready to take notes.  He asked me to close the door.

But when I was told that I was being let go after over 30 years with the company, I must say that I was in a state of disbelief.  I had always thought that I’d either die while at my desk, or retire from there.  It was surreal.  And as I spent the day walking around and packing up my desk and saying goodbye to people I’d known and worked with for decades, many of them were in tears and a state of disbelief as well.

In hindsight, though, it was actually a good thing for me.  For one thing, I was only unemployed for 3 months, which was a time I used to spend time searching for work, hanging out with my kids, and having dates with my wife – something we really needed to do. I got to have a relaxing Christmas. And by mid-January, I had offers, one of which I took.

But that time off also gave me the time to start this blog, which has become both a challenge and a joy for me.  I became more active in social media, establishing relationships with other print people all over the country, and even overseas.  And while I do not recommend unemployment for everyone, I spent the time wisely, and fruitfully.

So THIS Thanksgiving I am thankful for being let go, for the print friends I’ve made, and the place where I am able to take my creative print ideas to my clients.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Connect with John on Google+Twitter and LinkedIn.

About John Prothero

John Prothero is a print professional with over 30 years experience in the print industry. Starting out as a driver delivering jobs, he worked in bindery, proofing, plating, traditional prepress (camera and stripping), scheduling, job planning, job management, account management and digital job production. His skills also run in the area of blog authorship, social media management, and lead generation and qualification of prospective clients. John is also a contributor to Rhode Island Creative Magazine, a digital publication that highlights the creative spirit of the state of Rhode Island. You can read their online issues at www.ricreativemag.com
This entry was posted in Print and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What do I have to be thankful for?

  1. katherinetattersfield says:

    Your story is truly an inspiration, John. You bounced back with a vengeance! I’m very thankful to have you in my life ❤

Leave a Reply

