And here’s my card

2014-01-24 14.17.14When you’re unemployed, and out in the field looking for work, how you present yourself makes a tremendous impact.  From the clothing you’ve selected, your haircut or style, the firmness of your handshake, or even your minty-fresh breath – all of these elements can make an impact, or have a negative effect.  For me, I felt I had all of what I needed to present myself well: self-confidence; nice shoes; good taste in clothing; 3 decades in the print industry; and I made sure I brushed my teeth!  But I wanted to leave more with a prospective employer than my resume and a handshake: I wanted to leave a business card.  That’s when I turned to my friends at PrintFirm.com and their wonderful online solution.

PrintFirm.com is a marketing services provider that specializes not only in printed products, but all types of communication needs, be it banners, or giveaways.  I’ve known about them through social media, so I decided to give them a try.  I accessed their website, which had several links so you could order print-on-demand materials.  Their template-driven business card choices were impressive, giving me several designs to choose from.  Many of the templates were arranged in themes, dependent upon specific industries or businesses that one might be in.  There are also choices for generic designs, and I chose one that had a classy look to it.  The template itself was simple to use, with a navigation bar to the right where you had the fields that you could enter in your information.  However, a benefit to the template I chose was that you could also modify the design yourself.  There were text boxes, and pull-down menus that allowed me to adjust the font size, style or color, or placement in the text box.  Obviously, this is beneficial for someone that has basic knowledge of page layout applications, since knowing how to move boxes, adjust font size and color are not steps the casual user would know how to do.  I should mention here that customers can also select an option to have the PrintFirm.com design team create the artwork for you, at an additional cost.

After I added and edited my desired information, and made my adjustments and changed the copy around to the way I liked it, I was able to preview a PDF.  One benefit here was that if I wanted to further change copy, I could click a button that returned me to the template, and I could make changes there.  I must’ve made a good dozen alterations before I was pleased, and then I approved the PDF for print.

Once I approved the PDF I was able to place the order and check out.  Everything on the PrintFirm.com site is as you’d expect any online storefront site to be, and the interface was easy to use with large fields to input information.  Once I approved and placed the order I received an immediate email confirming the order and providing an invoice.  I received a 2nd email when the file had been reviewed and approved.  The final email I received advised that the order was done and in shipping.  The next day I had my cards and I was able to present them to the prospective employer, who took time to look at it before placing it on his desk.

The ease of use of PrintFirm.com’s website and online storefront is a model for how the future of print and marketing services will look.  I am pleased with the cards, and am encouraged that they seem to be noticed by the employers that I meet with.

You can go straight to PrintFirm.com’s business card ordering service by clicking on this link, PrintFirm.com online business card ordering.  Have fun and create a memorable and effective business card!

Connect with John on Google+Twitter and LinkedIn.

About John Prothero

John Prothero is a print professional with over 30 years experience in the print industry. Starting out as a driver delivering jobs, he worked in bindery, proofing, plating, traditional prepress (camera and stripping), scheduling, job planning, job management, account management and digital job production. His skills also run in the area of blog authorship, social media management, and lead generation and qualification of prospective clients. John is also a contributor to Rhode Island Creative Magazine, a digital publication that highlights the creative spirit of the state of Rhode Island. You can read their online issues at www.ricreativemag.com
This entry was posted in Print Marketing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And here’s my card

  1. Katherine says:

    John, thank you so much for this very thorough review! Your feedback means a lot to us considering your extensive printing experience. We’re proud to help you impress all these interviewers. Great pic, love the contrast of the cards on the leather.

Leave a Reply

